KIRKUS REVIEW

MIRROR DEEP

Mirror Deep-bookLandry, Joss

CreateSpace (456 pp.)

$16.95 paperback, $3.99 e-book

ISBN: 978-0991678501; October 17, 2012

BOOK REVIEW

In Landry’s debut romantic mystery, a young woman learns a shocking and potentially dangerous truth about her past.

Kat Bonner’s peaceful life on her family’s ranch is turned upside down when a seedy stranger visits and drops a bombshell: Kat is adopted, and her biological mother recently died. Soon the death toll climbs, and Kat’s complex journey to discover her origins lands her in the midst of a murder investigation—and makes her a potential next target.

Kat travels a dangerous road toward the truth while adjusting to her shifting relationship with her handsome ex-second-cousin Pierce. Landry does a thorough, successful job of blending mystery and romance. As a mystery, the pacing is quite steady; some new truth is always lurking around the next corner, and readers likely won’t expect many of the plot twists.

The romance feels natural as well, as Kat and Pierce transition from “relatives” to lovers. The fact that they were only second cousins may make the change easier for readers to accept; even before Kat’s origins are revealed, she and Pierce already have a considerable amount of chemistry. Indeed, from the first page, it’s revealed that Pierce has a particular way of getting Kat “riled.” Kat’s hesitation about their relationship, in spite of her undeniable attraction to Pierce, adds believability.

Throughout, the author delivers well-developed characters; each major player in the story has his or her fair share of flaws—Kat, for example, is stubborn and reckless—which adds dimension to the story.

A dynamic mystery, as unstoppable as the attraction between the book’s two main characters.

Kirkus Indie, Kirkus Media LLC, 6411 Burleson Rd., Austin, TX 78744

indie@kirkusreviews.com

AMAZON REVIEWS:
October 2013, 33 Reviews,

*****

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! November 13, 2012

By Missy V.

Format:Paperback|Amazon Verified Purchase

I couldn’t put the book down! No matter what day I was having this book had everything to keep me wanting to turn the pages; romance, suspense and drama. Joss does an amazing job keeping the reader wanting more and also plays with her reader’s emotions. I fell in love with the characters so much I really cared what happened next as I read on. This book is recommended highly.

*****

5.0 out of 5 stars Talented Author November 25, 2012

By Diane (London, England)

Format:Paperback

Great story, this book engaged me throughout. When Kat finds out that her life has been a lie, then a mystery begins to unfold. Kat travels from her secure home on the ranch, to Chicago. Her visit to the city soon becomes an eventful rollercoaster ride, and Kat turns to Pierce, not Jake, for help. The book has believable characters like Pierce,Lauren and Dorian. A well written and fast paced story. Recommended mustread!

*****

5.0 out of 5 stars Mirror Deep, a twist of fate that will have you page turning! December 10, 2012

By Janet Taylor Perry (mom5kids)

Format:Paperback

Joss Landry’s Mirror Deep is a treasure. It offers enough twists and turns to make my head spin worse than Reagan’s from the Exorcist. After weeks of waiting for my book to arrive, I finally finished it! This is my second Joss Landry novel to read. She gets better and better. I’m sitting on pins and needles for the next installment of magic from her.
When Kat’s life is turned topsy-turvy, the rollercoaster ride begins and true love blooms amid lies, stalking death, and a protective spirit. Pierce is my kind of man! And the imagery and backdrop of the world of horse showmanship add layers of intrigue. Just when you think you have the plot figured out, BAM! Another loopty-loop sends you into a freefall of excitement.
I would recommend this book to anyone of any age who has a spark of true romance in his/her soul.

*****

5.0 out of 5 stars Sensual, Sweet, and Suspenseful,November 24, 2012

By
Mary St-Hilaire (bookworm)

This review is from: Mirror Deep (Paperback)

I spent the last three days escaping work and other mundane activities, living inside Mirror Deep, every chance I got. What a wonderful place to visit. I even loved Kat and Pierce’s witty arguments and quiet race to get to wear the pants. I could feel the underlying tension, waiting for it to deliciously explode. Landry does a wonderful job of keeping us on the edge of our seat and swallowing every word, trying to find out who the mysterious woman is that keeps bumping into Kat’s life; or if Pierce’s father really had a hand in a murder. I just can’t believe all the twists and turns the author was able to incorporate in one story. Just when I thought I’d solved the mystery, three pages further, I was baffled again. Most of all, I thoroughly enjoyed Pierce’s inner discovery of his feelings for Kat and how he tried but couldn’t help himself from letting Kat know, bumping up against her when they danced together. But when Kat comes face to face with a moment from her past, I felt like cheering out loud. The only sad thing about a book like Mirror Deep is you wish it could go on for a long time, and you find yourself hoping Landry will make a sequel.

*****

5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant surprise,February 14, 2013

By
Coffeegulper50 (Lucas Morgan)
Amazon Verified Purchase

This review is from: Mirror Deep (Kindle Edition)

I have to say, this isn’t the type of book I normally read, so for me to enjoy it says something in itself. The writing is pretty much flawless, and characters in this book seem real, realer than those in many other books I’ve read. The author knows people, and knows how to put them into words. Another thing the author knows is horses, and the intricacies, and egos, that go along with the surrounding culture. Dialogue in this book is fantastic, very real, flows perfectly, the author has mastered the art of conversations, and the sometimes powerful tensions and emotions simmering underneath seemingly banal, everyday banter. I do some writing here and there, and I take my hat off to anyone who has done what this author has, that is bring to paper the story in their mind, and create something compelling and real. This is a great novel, and I’ve recommended it to my friends.

 *****

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!,January 10, 2013

By
Ali Atwood (Florida USA) –
This review is from: Mirror Deep (Kindle Edition)

Mirror Deep is a fast-paced action-packed mystery, set against an Equestrian Sport backdrop. When a family secret throws Kat Bonner’s life off balance, the intrigue begins, and her relationship with childhood friend, Pierce, deepens.
The story engaged me from beginning to end. The characters are well written, the dialogue is lively and realistic and the chemistry between Kat and Pierce is palpable. The plot’s twists and turns had me tearing through the pages, staying up late to find out what was going to happen next.
I will be watching for anything from Joss Landry. She writes with a lot of heart, and I’m hooked!

jeeptour-ge.comкупитьescort servicesЭкшн камерыcheap escortsbroker prestigeoption